Uncategorized

Unpopular Romance Book Opinions! Do I Agree??? Romance Hot Takes 🔥



Thanks for watching! ♡ people mentioned: @bookswithsamantha @PeaceLoveBooksxo *GET 2 AUDIOBOOKS FOR THE PRICE OF 1 & support indie …

source

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. Rayne

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    For Her Own Good was amazing until the last 20% and I was so dissapointed because I haaattteee that troupe so much.

  2. gabbyreads

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Me, who loves the cute illustrated covers: 👁👄👁

    Haha this is such a fun video!!! I love hearing all of these hot takes and opinions!! So entertaining 🤣😍

  3. Silken

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    vilifying the ex or first love interest to justify the MC getting with the endgame hero/heroine. I don't know when this started but it seemed to be a trend. I feel like instead of a love triangle we get the MC first falling in love with "the wrong guy/girl" which I personally don't mind, it's much more realistic- especially in a long series. BUT than the author often totally changes the character of the first love interest so the reader prefers for the new one. I don't like that….sometimes two people just aren't meant for each other without the other person being horrible. I know it adds to the drama but it can be done more subtle.

  4. Patricia Andrade

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I took personal the comment about the one bed trope… not romantic?? How dare you???

  5. ines carrera

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I actually agree with most of your opinions and for me another “unpopular opinion” would be: in dark romances or with any kind of heavy romance book, authors should always put trigger warnings. I already read some dark books were i have seen no one put any tw and at the beginning of the book i see myself panicking bc there’s a rape scene. That’s why i cannot read that genre anymore😔

  6. BlueEyedWolf

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Probably not unpopular but I hate when the main protagonists think the other one doesn't like them……. Even when something happened between them (kiss/sex/intimate talk…). I always think – You can't be that stupid 😁 The kiss quotient did this for me for example..

  7. iryelles

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I read somewhere that epilogues are put in because readers often want them. I don't know if that's true but I guess it's easier to just throw it in there than to have people asking what happened next.
    I'm not a fan of epilogues. At all.

  8. Franciska LJ

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I absolutely agree with your opinion on the accidental pregnancy, it's just the worst imo, and the whole idea (esp when it's the thing that makes the characters get back together post third act breakup) is just… no. The high school romances thing also same, it's really not that hard to find an academic setting that doesn't involve high school and/or minors in adult romances.
    I hope you do a part two, this was really great to watch!!

  9. VaneLovee

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    There are so many things that I won’t tolerate in real life… but in books 👀👀👀👀

  10. Bookreading Jill

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I've been watching your videos here and there since 2015. I pretty much only read romance and I never realized how much our tastes are the same until this video!! I agreed with everything you said, down to the dislike of pregnancy trope and reading about high school.

    Maybe the only thing I didn't agree was that I do get embarrassed by those romance covers haha. You are much braver than me.

  11. Abby Salter

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    With these cringy epilogues maybe some of that is US publishers. Beach Read has different endings in the UK to US. And I’m so happy I got the realistic, cute UK ending instead of the cheesy US one. So maybe this is a wider issue and not just this 1 book

  12. Claudia

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I love Jessa Kane's series with big men, they were so f*** hot 🥵 the names are Burly, Husky, Bulky, King Size, they are all soooo good 😊

  13. remarkablylisa

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    LETS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  14. remarkablylisa

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    On the pet name comment, ana huangs book calls her heroine sunshine and i laughed because if i got a pet name, it would be doom or Queen of darkness

  15. Gretchen Dowdy

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Ok so I totally agree that it’s weird to have high school adult romances. However, the thing that I find entertaining about them is the ridiculous priorities that the characters have. It’s just so amusing to me that all of this nonsense surface level stuff is important to them and you would hope that someone in college would outgrow those priorities simply because they have more life experience. Not that any high school romance I have ever read actually feels like it’s between two high schoolers lol. I don’t know I guess I just really hate college romances about the “popular” kids like who the hell is popular in college? It’s college.

  16. Beatriz Sambado

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    my opinion is that if it’s not poly it’s not a love triangle and I will die on this hill !!!

  17. Tayler Park

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I would love a part 2! 🙂

  18. milomazli

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I soooo loved hearing your thoughts!!! 🙂

  19. milomazli

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Im soooo with you on the surprise pregnancy stuff.. bllllaah. I also vibe with the body positivity stuff, and to the person who doesnt like too much steam. jaw drops I am in the other camp: I need a good story, but with full on full on STEEEEAM 🙂

  20. milomazli

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    My BF and I just talked about this the other day: I read so much steamy romance, like on the daily that his sexual content consumption PALES next to it :))))))))) While he does things like that once in a few month, I am on our couch multiple days a week, reading my steamy stuff!! 🙂 I think that is so funny. Times change.

  21. milomazli

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    and YESSSS, please do a part 2!!!!!

  22. Roxx

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Part 2! Part 2! Part 2!🤞🤗❤️

  23. BeautyChemCam

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    When you talked about the only one bed trope I immediately started thinking about the Nina and Matthias scene in Shadow and Bone (show), and then you're like when they fall asleep not touching and wake up cuddling. Yep. 😀

  24. Laura L.

    September 2, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    i loved this!! heck yeah for part 2. __ totally disagree with most f/f romance being too soft 😭 i always get so confused when people say this… i feel like among the books i read there's a good mix of soft and steamy? but i guess it just comes down to what's on different people's radars. and some people might have a different definition of 'soft'. but here's some recs for sapphic books on the steamier side 💖💖

    – all the reasons i need by jaime clevenger (f/f vacation romance)
    – in the distance there is light by harper bliss (f/f age gap, fiance's mom)
    – femme like her by fiona zedde (f/f, second chance ish)
    – love kills twice by rien gray (f/nb, assassin romance)

    – when she thaws by lily craig (f/f nanny romance, sound of music vibes)
    – mangoes and mistletoe by adriana herrera (f/f holiday romance, baking show)
    – the fate of stars by s.d. simper (f/f fantasy, captor/captive, princess/mermaid)
    – those who wait by haley cass (f/f dating app, friends to lovers)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top