Uncategorized

reacting to YOUR basic book opinions (don't worry, i'm basic too 😌)



use code MELREADS to get your first book for $9.99 https://www.bookofthemonth.com/?utm_source=youtube&utm_medium=video&utm_campaign=MelReads …

source

44 Comments

44 Comments

  1. Wiktoria Balcerak

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I need to have all series in the same edition!!! that's why I sometimes just get them on Kindle so I don't have to hunt them lmao

  2. Denise

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    ☕️☕️☕️

  3. Nazmun Afrad Sheetol

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Please do readathons Mel 🥺🥺🥺.

  4. Agata P.

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    When you were talking about the mismatched books that you have, the Diviners sitting behind you: 👁👄👁

  5. Pauline Tayloe

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I spent my whole life reading and watching horror like Stephen king books and movies and being into mystery to, but now I think I think I shows move on to thrillers, romance, historical fiction and fantasy genre, I’m 40 yr old and and first time I’ve actually read young adult and combing of age books.

  6. ADIL REHMAN

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Mel Your videos are such a refreshment. thank you for this video…

  7. Kasandra

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Every time I took a sip of rose I would BASICally be drunk ! Loved it so much

  8. Alexandra Strimbu

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I've been HUNTING down a few of The Series of Unfortunate Events books just so I don't have them with the dumb Netflix "sticker" that won't come off – just bugs me too much 🫖🫖🫖

  9. Just Jade Beauty

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I use and love Thriftbooks so much. Their rewards system is unmatched in my opinion. I just got Crooked Kingdom in the hardcover because it was a lot cheaper and I wanted the hardcover. I wasn't expecting it to come with the red sprayed edges, but it did and I was so excited. Would definitely recommend. And their customer service is 👌👌. I almost never buy new books anymore, now that Books a Million added a gigantic bargain section, I almost never shop in the normal section. Unless there's a book that I want to read right away, I always buy used. Half-Price Books is another store that is really great as well.

  10. Luana Jasmin

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    ☕☕☕

  11. the garden of tere

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    me encanta tu maquillaje en este video! cuando yo lei we were liars me gusto mucho, el final es algo que nunca hubiera pensado que fuera a suceder

  12. Sula Gordon

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    whenever i read a hard cover (which is never) i do take off the dust jacket but only cause when i read with it on it slides up and its really annoying but i couldn't give two if it got damaged

  13. Angelic Reads

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I love paperback. That is all I buy. I’m addicted to the floppy.

  14. andrewannotates

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I’m so glad someone else doesn’t like the grishaverse!!! I really thought I was going to love it but I really wasn’t into it

  15. reddrye

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I NEED a true enemies to lovers. It is a need!!!

  16. anon🙇🏽‍♀️

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    i agree on the enemies to lovers thing!!
    only like 5% of the ‘enemies to lovers’ books that get recommended are ACTUALLY enemies to lovers.

  17. Gracie R

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    you might have already read it bc i it was mentioned on booktok a lot earlier this year that is like actually enemy to lovers (but mixed with the enemy in hiding/deceit trope) is to kill a kingdom

  18. Annika

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Two tv shows that are better than the books they are based on:
    Normal People
    The Handmaid’s Tale
    And that’s the tea. 🍵

  19. Aliena's life

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I think you can learn reading any kind of book, depending on how good the research was before writing. Most fantasy books are based on some myth or a part of mythology. If the author did their research properly, you might learn about it! Also, loved the video! 🍵

  20. FinalEclipse

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Tonnes of trigger warnings but the Captive Prince trilogy by C S Pacat is an INTENSE enemies-to-lovers book

  21. Jay G

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I want to read the love hypothesis so badly 🥲

  22. Diana Misty

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    ☕️☕️☕️

  23. Abbey

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    ☕☕☕Yes! Movie book covers & real people on covers are sooo unappealing! I've also bought a lot of thrift books and honestly they r never really in that bad of a condition.💞

  24. destiny

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    🫖

  25. Kevin

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I would say that Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer is an outlier in regards to books being better than their respective film/tv adaptations. The movie adaptation of Annihilation is SO MUCH BETTER than the book. If you haven't heard of it, you should definitely check it out (also, if you like sci-fi and/or cosmic horror then this is for you!).

  26. CJ Lair

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    how are u organizing ur shelves rn?? they look so good :))

  27. Vanessa Lynn

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    🍵

  28. MFRmd

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Twilight has been a miss since its conception for me

    Agree with the movie tie up book covers especially with the "stickers" 😑

  29. Bookish Rising

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    “You had the poster” attacked

  30. Shauna XX

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    ☕️🫖The matching cover thing used to be something I cared ALOT about but then I started buying more books second hand and figured the cheaper price was worth the mismatch
    Second hand copies are awesome I recently found a bookshop Thats all second hand and they have 3 books for €5 on almost all their books (graphic novels and first editions are more) and ended up buying so many books

  31. Rubeus Potter

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Basic opinion. 3rd person fantasy, 1st person and 3rd person horror and 1st person romance novels are my favorite books though I'm willing to read other books

  32. BojanaT95

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    🍵🍵🍵

  33. Vyx

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Sky in the deep they fight on different sides of a war

  34. Tijana Kovac

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Yes get that dust jacket OFF. Leaving it on is annoying af and does feel wrong hahah 😂

  35. Isabel Nano

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Hi when I go to a bookstore here in Sweden there’s almost no fantasy a little ya.

  36. Jessica Ceeney

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Love these chatty videos!! I definitely share some of these basic opinions 😅☕

  37. the_new_mrs_turner

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Ehh.. We Were Liars is still bad.

  38. Kamila S.

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Loved the video 🍵🍵🍵

  39. Veronica Matias

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    “Do I think they’re good now? No. But that’s called growth” lmaoooo I’m dying. But I feel the same way about the twilight series. I think the movie adaptation may have tainted the whole series for me though 😅

  40. Elba Maria Sosa-Velasco

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    My solution for huge books is that I divide the book ahead of time. For example: number of chapters or pages…that I will read at the moment and then the book doesn't look that big. The first time I did it was with 11/23/63 by Mr.King and it worked great. 🫖🧉

  41. Marije Oskam

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    i must say that i do indeed prefer third person for fantasy and scifi, but i would never want to read a romance in third person. honestly, that would feel weird

  42. S.N. Schopp

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Yeah I mean a bad cover doesn’t turn me off from it. But Sometimes if it’s ugly enough I’ll pick the book up to see what it’s about. So sometimes it can work in the books favor. But I definitely judge and form snap judgements of the book before reading the description.

  43. Meghan Martinez

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    ☕️

  44. Morgan Boyce

    September 14, 2021 at 2:02 am

    Completely agree with larger books often having easier to understand content. Minus Priory because I was SO confused for the first like 50 pages.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top